Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Please Help Me Help My Mom - Repaying Debt Question

Spenny

Registered
Hi All

This might be a pretty basic question but I'm not very experienced with this stuff, and I always see quality posts in this forum so here goes..

I'm trying to advise my Mom on how to best pay her debts but I'm not sure how. If you can offer any advice or direction at all it would be very greatly appreciated by a little old lady! Here is her situation:

Current Mortgage

Debt: 40k

Rate: 2.99%

Type: Closed Prepayment

Payment: 700/month

Maturity: Jan 2016

Prepayment Privilege: "15% + 15%" + "Match-a-Payment"

Visa Card

Debt: 30k

Rate: 4%

Disposable Income

1,200/month

Investment Portfolio

15k GIC due in December 2013

5k GIC due in August 2014

Analysis

So ideally I would have liked to use both of her GIC investments (20k total) to pay down her Visa and then just pay the minimum on the mortgage and the remaining disposable income on the Visa in order to "snowball" her debt, but that seems impossible with the set 700 mortgage payments. That's where my expertise ends.

I spoke with an advisor at her bank and the only option she offered was to use the 15k GIC in December to pay down the Visa card to a remaining balance of 15k, and then transfer that balance to her mortgage on a "new blended rate" of around 3.55% with an amort of 5 years (assuming payment of 1200/month). I think she can also do blends with different amorts/rates.

How can this be analyzed and compared to alternatives? Are there any benefits to this approach? Are there any alternatives? Is there a clear winner here? Very open to suggestions!

Many thanks

Spenny

Sherilynn

Real Estate Maven
REIN Member